Zendrum Stuff > I don't have a Zendrum, but...

Exotic wood choices & EPCOT ???

(1/1)

CathodE:
Hello all!

Am preparing financially and aesthetically to dive in and purchase a custom Zendrum.  I am an electronic/sample/sound collage artist in Lewiston, Maine, with a history/professional training on drums.

1.  Can anyone tell me of/point me in the direction of a list of all the exotic hardwoods that David and the crew can make Zendrum out of?  I am definitely opting for an exotic wood.  Given some type of list, I can then cross-reference what these woods look like, either online, or at a nearby college library.  I understand that some exotic woods are more difficult to work with than others, can be brittle, etc.  For instance, I had a custom snare drum built a few years back with an exterior Bubinga veneer.  The manufacturer cracked 3 different veneers before finally getting one successfully on the drum!

2.  I am very curious about this:  Each October my wife and I go to Walt Disney World in Orlando.  And it seems that each year, I see more and more Zendrummers performing in the theme parks, most notably EPCOT, followed by ANIMAL kINGDOM.  It drives my wife nuts, because I always have to stop and watch the entire performance, and then go ask the guy questions after!  I am wondering if the folks at ZENDRUM have some kind of a deal with DISNEY, whereby the Zendrum might gain some great exposure in front of many thousand people on a daily or weekly basis:  is ZENDRUM endorsing these performers/acts with the instrument in return for great exposure?  Just curious.  Can't wait to count how many ZENDRUMs I see in '06!

Thanks,

TrocaR

ZenGina:
Hi TrocaR,

This is Gina in the Zendrum office...Thank you for your post about the Zendrum!
I can answer both of your questions: