Zendrum Stuff > I don't have a Zendrum, but...

Learning the Zendrum LT: time frame?

(1/2) > >>

partech:
Given all the prerequisites, excellent sense of rythm, experience with Simmons drums and other gadgetry, (no false modesty here ;) what sort of time frame are we talking about for "mastering" the Zendrum LT?

Pocket Master:
I play a ZX, but I have to honestly tell you the learning curve would be about the same.  It took me 2 weeks to get my patterns down, but even then it was a work in progress.  I have been playing for just over 2 years now and I am still learning and changing things.  I started with a Roland TD-6V drum module, then graduated up to using a MacBook Pro with Superior Drummer 2.0, then went to using Ableton Live with Superior Drummer 2.0.  It is an ever evolving process.  But I am still using the basic setup that I started with 2 years ago.  I have since upgraded to a Z4 chipset and added some pads, not sure you can add more triggers to the LT.  I spent about 5 to 8 hours a night for about 2 weeks and was getting good enough to play in front of people.

Hope this helps,

Rob

Geosphere:
Have you mastered acoustic kits?

Pocket Master:
I will say that it did help to have my skills on an acoustic kit up to speed.  I guess I forget that part sometimes.  That is what helped me realize that I was ready to play out on my Zendrum, I couldn't tell the difference between playing my kit and playing my ZX.  That could go both ways though now that I think about it, either I was a great acoustic drummer and my ZX playing has matched it, or I am a terrible acoustic player and my ZX playing has matched it........hmmmmmm.  I think I will go with the first.

Rob

Zendrumdude:

--- Quote from: Geosphere on April 27, 2011, 11:09:53 am ---Have you mastered acoustic kits?

--- End quote ---

LOL Geo, exactly!  Of course not!  Mastery would be a pretty strong word for ANY skill, especially so for such a varied and complex thing as drumming or Z-drumming.