Zendrum Forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: OK I'm an old dog...  (Read 1993 times)

xceptasur

OK I'm an old dog...
« on: September 16, 2006, 04:16:08 pm »

I really enjoy having my new ZX; however, I would enjoy it more if I knew how to program using MIDI.  Maybe I am too ambitious.  As an old school guitarist, I have not used MIDI devices.  I have a DM5 and a EMU Orbit that I thought I could use, and then send the signal to an effects device.  I thought I could read the MIDI maps, and made a few attempts (3 hours worth now, with manuals).  I guess my medication is starting to wear off too (lol).  Anyone with any ideas out there?  Your thought's are greatly appreciated. ???  (It does work fine with just the DM5, but I wanted to have a fuller sound).

jeff sanders

Re: OK I'm an old dog...
« Reply #1 on: September 16, 2006, 04:47:32 pm »

i put my alesis and my roand modules through a peavey kosmos pro. theres a new peavey kosmos2 thats cheaper in price but newer in design id suggest comparing them in person with your module. it really fattens up the drums clarifies cymbals and enhances the image of the sound.  its a 1 rack space hardware. it has high and low-z input/outputs, a dedicated subwoofer output with separate sub level control, spdif in/outs.
heres a link

http://www.peavey.com/products/demos/kosmos/

jeff

xceptasur

« Reply #2 on: September 16, 2006, 09:17:46 pm »

Thanks Jeff.  I'll ckeck it out.

Zennerman1

• Tribesman
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: September 20, 2006, 09:10:21 am »

I too have used the DM5 and Emu modules together. I currently have the Emu Planet Earth.

Emu sometime does some strange things with their note mapping. Have a look at the General MIDI note map on the Zendrum resource site. Each drum will have it's own MIDI note number. Bass drum is usually 36.