Zendrum Stuff > I don't have a Zendrum, but...

Some questions on the Zendrum

(1/1)

tsteak:
Hey people,
I discovered the Zendrum on YouTube several months ago, and it has since been on my mind 24/7. It seems to be my dream instrument; I’m a very percussively-minded musician who has never had the space (or permission from neighbors) to have an actual drum kit, but the Zendrum is a truly ingenious concept in that it allows musicians such as myself the capability to play with limited space and decibel constraints. I have been dead-set on saving up enough dough for one, but I think that I should ask a few clarifying questions before I make the final purchase.

1)   Is Zendrum compatible with Reason Drum Kits 2.0 (on Reason 3.0)? I know that Zendrum works with drum software such as BFD and DFH, but RDK 2.0 is what I currently use for drum sequencing, and I’ve never heard about someone using the Zendrum as the MIDI controller for Reason 3.0.
2)   Just how velocity sensitive are the Zendrum pads? With a program like Reason Drum Kits 2.0, there’s a pretty incredible range of dynamics, from ultra light ghost hits to full-force strikes. I want to be sure that a Zendrummer can fully produce that whole dynamics range in a live setting, from the very light touches to the hard hits.
3)   What does it mean when it says that Zendrum supports 16-MIDI channels? Does that mean that the Zendrum is limited to playing one 16-piece “kit” at a time? [sorry, I’m none too MIDI savvy yet!] Also not quite sure what is meant when it is said that “MIDI range of touch control is from 0 to 127.”
4)   Can any Zendrum users attest to which model they prefer, the laptop or ZX model?

Any feedback would be greatly appreciated!

john emrich:
1) The Zendrum will work with Reason.  You only need a MIDI/audio interface to communicate with your computer.